Skip to content

Anna Mears OAM


Inducted in 2018 Elevated to Legend in 2020

Anna Meares is the only Australian athlete to medal individually in 4 consecutive Olympic Games, winning Gold in Athens 2004 in the 500m Time Trial becoming the first Australian Female Gold Medallist in Track Cycling which saw her awarded an OAM. She also claimed Bronze in the Women’s Sprint. In Beijing 2008, she won Silver in the sprint 7 months after breaking her neck in a race fall in LA.

This was followed up with Gold in the sprint and Bronze in the team sprint (with Kaarle McCulloch) in London 2012. In her final Olympics in Rio 2016, she won a Bronze in the Keirin. In these Games, capping off her brilliant career she was also named flag bearer for the Australian Team in the Opening Ceremony.

As well as Olympic success she won eight Commonwealth Games Medals, 5 of those Gold and at World Championships she won 27 medals, 11 of those Gold.

Between 2004 and 2012 she was named Australian Elite Female Track Cyclist of the Year seven times. She also became Australian Cyclist of the Year in 2008 and 2012.