Skip to content

Adelaide 36ers 1998-1999


Inducted in 2019

The Adelaide 36ers took home back to back NBL Championships in 1998 and 1999, cementing their spot as one of South Australia’s most outstanding teams of the era. Rookie Coach, Phil Smyth, lead the team to achieve these Championships in his first two years of coaching.

The 36ers finished second to Melbourne Magic at the end of the season with 19 wins and 11 losses, and went on the defeat the Magic in the three game Final Series with two straight wins 100 – 93 and 90 – 62. Kevin Brooks was named MVP of the Finals Series.

The 1999 season saw them finish top of the ladder with 18 wins and 8 losses. They went on to defeat the Victoria Titans 2-1 in the three game Grand Final Series. Brett Maher was named MVP of the Finals Series with Darnell Mee named Best Defensive Player of the Season.

Players – Scott Ninnis, Rupert Sapwell, Paul Rees, Mark Davies, Martin Cattalini, Kevin Brooks, Jason Williams, John Rillie, Jared Wilson, Dean Brogan, Brett Maher, Darnell Mee.

Coach – Phil Smyth

Assistant Coaches – Steve Breheny, Scott Ninnis