Banner Image

History of South Australian Sport Awards winners

Active Inclusion Award

2019Goodwood Saints Football Club
2021Novita SANFL Wheelchair Football League 

Administrator of the Year Award 

2010Stephen FinchMount Burr United Football Club
2011Alistair MacDonaldTennis SA 
2012Phill Sinnott Squash SA
2013John CranwellSasrapid
2014Mark EastonBowls
2015Sue DewingAustralian Rules Football
2016Michael Carter Football (Soccer)
2017Clare HarrisSurf Life Saving
2018Nathan DavisonBaseball
2019Christine NewberrySpecial Olympics SA

Coach of the Year Award

2010Gary WestCycling
2011Craig Victory Hockey
2012Peter BishopSwimming
2013Tim DeckerCycling
2014Tim DeckerCycling
2015Gareth JonesGolf
2016Peter BishopSwimming
2017Bec GoddardAustralian Rules Football
2018Jason GillespieCricket
2019Chris LucasBasketball

Country Athlete of the Year Award

2010Henry CraufordSwimming Blue Lake Y
2011James DukalskisAthleticsMount Gambier
2012Heather RichardsBowling Lower South East
2013James Dukalskis Athletics Mount Gambier
2014Simon GeldenhuysSwimmingWhyalla
2015Georgie Seidel Rowing Coomandook 
2016Aidan Stock Hockey 
2017Simon Hockey Croquet 
2018Georgia Hood SoftballMount Gambier 
2019Darcie BrownCricket, SACA

Community Event of the Year Award

2015Surf Life Saving SA Junior State Championships Surf Life Saving
2016Dragons Down Under AdelaideDragonBoats 
2017Sellicks Beach Historic Motorcycle Races Motorcycling 
2018DENSO vs Aussie Spirit Softball 
2019Under 17 Combined Boys & Girls National Softball ChampionshipsSoftball 

Event of the Year Award

2010Santos Tour Down Under Cycling 
2011Australian Rowing ChampionshipsRowing
2012World Tennis Challenge Tennis 
2013Rescue 2012 World Life Saving ChampionshipsSurf Life Saving with SA Aquatic & Leisure Centre 
2014Hammertime Croquet 

Major Event of the Year Award

2015Sunday Mail City-Bay Fun Run Athletics 
2016Hancock Prospecting Swimming Australia Olympic TrialsSwimming
2017ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Golf Open Golf 
2018OTR SuperSprint Supercars 
20192018 World Life Saving ChampionshipsSurf Life Saving

Official of the Year Award

2010Jeffrey Green Badminton
2011Malcolm HughesYachting
2012Michael EastaughffeRowing
2013Simon Fry Cricket 
2014Ken Gooding Cycling
2015Steve Davis Cricket 
2016Glenn Errington Table Tennis
2017Simon Fry Cricket 
2018Caroline JackmanAthletics 
2019Vanessa DevlinBasketball

Reconciliation Sport Award

2019Port Adelaide Athletics Club Athletics

Richard Newman Primary School Sport Award

2012Nikki Thompson AthleticsPara Hills Primary 
2013Callum Park Baseball and FootballPlympton Primary
2014Alex Haydon SquashHenley Beach Primary 
2015Charlotte Kempenaers-PoczTennisGlenelg Primary 
2016Ben Hinks SailingCraigburn Primary 
2017Charlotte Kempenaers-PoczTennisGlenelg Primary 
2018Joshua Turner ArcheryCoorara Primary 
2019Catrina TanBadmintonStirling East Primary School

Secondary School Sport Award

2012Emma Checker SoccerImmanuel College 
2013Kyle Chalmers SwimmingImmanuel College 
2014Jack Rossiter ShootingWoodcroft College 
2015Kyle Chalmers SwimmingImmanuel College 
2016Liam Bekric Multi-Class SwimmingUnderdale High 
2017Alexandra ChidiacFootball (Soccer)Open Access College 
2018Matthew CarterDivingPembroke School 
2019Alexandra HaydonSquashHenley High School

Volunteer of the Year Award

2010Maureen MerrickBicycle SA 
2011Robyn LeCornuCricket 
2012Russell Ritter Equestrian
2013Geoff YoungCricket 
2014Cynthia LangleyTable Tennis 
2015James LangCricket 
2016John Holland Dragon Boats 
2017Graeme GilbertNetball 
2018Jane RussoTouch Football & Athletics
2019Gloria DennisCity of Playford

Margaret Ralston AM “Golden Door Award”

Presented to the pioneering women of South Australia who have opened doors leading to greater equality for women’s participation in sport.

2013Marie Little OAM
2016Lois Quarrell 
2017Wendy Ey
2018Jenny Williams

Spirit of South Australia Award

To acknowledge extraordinary achievements and sporting performances that have captured the hearts of all South Australians. 

2010Marjorie Jackson-Nelson AC CVO MBE
2014Robert Gerard AO 
2018Neil Sachse 
2019Margaret Ralston AM 

SA Sports Star of the Year Awards

The Advertiser Channel 7 Sport Start of the Year Honour Roll

1965Neil HawkeCricket
1966Dianne Burge OAMAthletics2011
1967Dianne Burge OAMAthletics2011
1968Ian ChappellCricket2011
1969Fred PhillisFootball
1970Kerry O’BrienAthletics2014
1971Ian ChappellCricket2011
1972Robert HaighHockey2011
1973Sandra BailsSwimming
1974Bart Cummings AMThoroughbred Racing2010 – elevated to Legend
1975Ian ChappellCricket2011
1976John KosminaFootball (Soccer)2010
1977David HookesCricket
1978Rodney HoggCricket
1979Greg PrettyMotorcycling
1980Vicki Cardwell BEMSquash2010
1981Vicki Cardwell BEMSquash2010
1982Glynis Nunn OAMAthletics2019
1983Vicki Cardwell BEMSquash2010
1984Glynis Nunn OAMAthletics2019
1984Dean Lukin OAMWeightlifting2010
1984Mike Turtur AOCycling2010
1985Lisa Martin-OndiekiAthletics2010
1986Lisa Martin-OndiekiAthletics2010
1987Chris DittmarSquash2017
1988Lisa Martin-OndiekiAthletics2010
1989Chris DittmarSquash2017
1990Sean CarlinAthletics
1991Simon Fairweather OAMArchery2010
1991John Fitzgerald OAMTennis2020
1992Gillian Rolton AMEquestrian2010 – elevated to Legend in 2016
1993Phil Rogers OAMSwimming2017
1994Stuart O’Grady OAMCycling
1995Mark Woodforde OAMTennis2010
1996Mark Woodforde OAMTennis2010
1997Mark Woodforde OAMTennis2010
1998Stuart O’GradyCycling
1999Lleyton HewittTennis
2000Brett Aitken OAMCycling2017
2001Lleyton HewittTennis
2002Lleyton HewittTennis
2003Lleyton HewittTennis
2004Luke RobertsCycling
2005Kerrin McEvoyThoroughbred Racing
2006David HayesThoroughbred Racing
2007Amber HallidayRowing
2008Anna Meares OAMCycling2018 – elevated to Legend in 2020
2009Sam WilloughbyBMX
2010Anna Meares OAMCycling2018 – elevated to Legend in 2020
2011Anna Meares OAMCycling2018 – elevated to Legend in 2020
2012Anna Meares OAMCycling2018 – elevated to Legend in 2020
2013Rohan DennisCycling
2014Sam WilloughbyBMX
2015Rohan DennisCycling
2016Kyle Chalmers OAMSwimming

Tanya Denver Award for Endeavour and Sportsmanship

2012Kieran Modra AMCycling
2013Vanessa StokesSoftball
2014Clare LindopThoroughbred Racing
2015Danielle HillHarness Racing
2016Libby Kosmala OAMParalympic Shooting
2017Sam WilloughbyBMX
2018Chris RemkesGymnastics
2019Eliza BartlettCricket

Junior Sports Star of the Year

2012Luke SavilleTennis
2013Alex EdmondsonCycling
2014Alex ManlyCycling
2015Kyle Chalmers OAMSwimming
2016Kyle Chalmers OAMSwimming
2017Alexandra HaydonSquash
2018Kayla CrowtherHorse Racing
2019Montana McKinnonFootball

Team of the Year

2012Australian Men’s Team PursuitCycling
2013Adelaide ThunderbirdsNetball
2014Australian Men’s Team PursuitCycling
2015Adelaide UnitedFootball (Soccer)
2016Adelaide UnitedFootball (Soccer)
2017Adelaide Crows AFLW TeamAustralian Rules Football
2018North Adelaide (SANFL)Australian Rules Football
2019Adelaide Crows AFLW TeamAustralian Rules Football

Elite Athlete with a Disability of the Year Award

2012Matthew Cowdrey OAMSwimming
2013Matthew Cowdrey OAMSwimming
2014Jesse AunglesSwimming
2015Brayden Davidson OAMAthletics
2016Brayden Davidson OAMAthletics
2017Brayden Davidson OAMAthletics
2018Jed AltschwagerRowing
2019Darren HicksCycling

People’s Choice Award

2012Matthew Cowdrey OAMSwimming
2013Natalie von BertouchNetball
2014Jess TrengoveAthletics
2015Renae InglesNetball
2016Jess TrengoveAthletics
2017Scott ThulbornBowls
2018Jane ClaxtonHockey 

Contact us

Don’t get stuck on the sidelines.

Contact us below with any questions or inquiries and our team will be happy to assist.